NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Rooms by Lauren Oliver Book Review

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Deliriumtrilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways 
Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. 
But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. 
The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.
Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

This book isn't the type of genre I would typically read but I picked it up because it was Lauren Oliver's newest and I wanted to try it at least. I don't think that I exactly enjoyed this book, but it did have its moments. The main reason that I didn't enjoy it was because the characters weren't very likable. They were interesting and broken but they weren't ones that you want to come back on a rainy day and revisit. At least, they aren't for me. The book itself is written very well and the writing is what is in enjoyable. The basic plot, simplified as much as possible, is that there are two ghosts living in a house, they are the house basically. And when the family of Richard Walker comes to bury his ashes and clear out the house of valuables and such, secrets appear from purposefully hidden memories or secrecy and both the ghosts and Walkers have to face their pasts and choices. 

The book is divided into sections, about a dozen or so I'd guess, of the different rooms. The first section was kitchen and the second was living room or dining room I think. In that section the characters were mainly in that area or something big happened there. And that's why it's called rooms I suppose. I thought that it was an interesting writing format. This, along with the descriptions that Lauren Oliver uses throughout the book, were the things I liked best about this book. The writing is good...it's just that the characters and there actions are broken a depressing. There is some debate by readers, some people feel like this is more of a YA book and others think it's an adult book. I thought or had heard this was her adult debut and I would agree with that after reading this book. The content is pretty high for a YA book I think.

My librarian warned me to read this with the lights on, telling me it looked scary. However it wasn't really that scary, there were a few times at the beginning where it got a bit creepy but for the most part it was a very calm ghost story. You are learning the ghosts' stories at the same time that you're learning the Walkers' stories. Although the ghosts' stories are a bit more confused and out of order. The stories, secrets, and everything we've learned all come together at the end of the book. I thought it was a pretty good ending, probably my favorite part of the book because there were some interesting plot twists.

Overall, I thought that this book was well written. Lauren Oliver is a very good writer and can find beautiful ways to express mundane things like the kitchen table in ways that you'll remember. While this book wasn't one that I would normally read or necessarily a genre that I like, I still read it because it was Lauren Oliver. And in a way, I wasn't disappointed. It was depressing with characters that were very broken and had some dark secrets. But the plot was good and there were several twists that I wasn't expecting. I'm giving Rooms 3 out of 5 flowers.

Sara Bennett happens to be a slightly crazy girl. A slightly nerdy girl. A slightly strange girl who likes being that way.  A slightly obsessed girl when it comes to things she loves. A girl who cries when reading books. A girl who desperately wants her own personal library. A girl who is a total bookworm. A girl who would rather read than watch reality tv. A girl who wants to be an author someday. A girl who loves her Savior. And a girl who just loves to read.



Camp Forget-Me-Not by J.K. Rock Blog Tour Stop

Camp Forget-Me-Not (Camp Boyfriend, #3)
Playing it safe and fitting in may have rocketed Kayla West into the “In” crowd at Camp Juniper Point, but it’s left her lonely. The only person she’s ever been herself with was her former best friend, Nick, an outsider that pushed her to join the most popular girls cabin two years ago. Too bad being a Diva meant pressure to break up with Nick. Of course, Kayla had her reasons, but Nick can never know the real one. She always thought she'd forget him one day and move on. Until he returns to camp a super-hot Olympian snowboarder. Now, every girl wants him and Nick seems determined to show her what a mistake she made. Or at least, she thought that's what he wanted. But when Nick starts sending her private notes--just like he used to--she wonders what kind of game he's playing. Nick's attention is making it tougher to stay in the background and play in safe, forcing Kayla to make a decision--stay on the sidelines and get overlooked? Or take a chance on trusting Nick and, maybe... herself.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson Book Review


Following on the heels of Sanderson’s successful launch into the YA market with the New York Times bestselling Rithmatist comes Mistborn, now repackaged for the teen audience.
Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed.
For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.
Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned—one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin.
Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed?


The Storm Siren by Mary Weber Book Review


“I raise my chin as the buyers stare. Yes. Look. You don’t want me. Because, eventually, accidentally, I will destroy you.” In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled. As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist. Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed. Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons. But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for? Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

Pages: 320
Source: Publisher

Two Reviews: Unmarked by Kami Garcia

Unmarked (The Legion, #2)The heart-pounding sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller, Unbreakable, by New York Times bestselling Beautiful Creatures co-author Kami Garcia.

He is here... and he could be anyone.

Kennedy Waters lives in a world where vengeance spirits kill, ghosts keep secrets, and a demon walks among us–a demon she accidentally set free. 
Now Kennedy and the other Legion members–Alara, Priest, Lukas, and Jared–have to hunt him down. As they learn more about the history of the Legion and the Illuminati, Kennedy realizes that the greatest mystery of all does not belong to any secret order, but to her own family. With the clock ticking and the life of someone she loves hanging in the balance, Kennedy has to ask the question she fears most: what is it about her past that has left her Unmarked?